Karpe Diem

Karpe Diem is a Norwegian rap group from Oslo made up of Magdi Omar Ytreeide Abdelmaguid and Chirag Rashmikant Patel.

Photo Johnny Leo Johansen(c)

Their debut release was Glasskår EP in 2004 that was a commercial success and the same-titled single “Glasskår” peaked at #9 on VG-lista, the Norwegian Albums Chart staying 6 weeks in the chart and certified gold. Their debut studio album was Rett fra hjertet released in 2006. It reached #10 on VG-lista and sold 18,000 copies. The band got nominated for “Best Album” in Spellemannprisen in 2006 and Karpe Diem won the Norwegian Alarmprisen in 2007. Their 2008 album Fire Vegger was an even bigger success. The album sold more than 30,000 copies and reached #3 in the Norwegian Albums Chart. Aldri solgt en løgn became their third and biggest album topping the Norwegian charts and making them win the prestigious Spellemannprisen award as “Best Hip Hop album” and the single “Ruter” as “Best hit of the year”. Other accolades for the album included the official award Bendiksenprisen, Sigval Bergesen d.y.’s honorary “Almennyttige Ærespris” award and international recognition as “Best Norwegian Act” in MTV Europe Music Awards in 2010. They celebrated the award by donating the proceeds to the Red Cross in Groruddalen and giving a free concert for under-18 youth at the Rockefeller in Oslo.

Karpe Diem – Snøhvit