Visiting Favela in Rio

Is it dangerous for a tourist to visit a favela in Rio? I am a photographer who wants to see other sides of society. I think that it is a good thing for both sides. There are persons that either choose to live a different life than most of people, or are in a situation that they can´t live a life that many feel is the best way of living. We should see, respect and care about this other ways of living.

favela, a skin-irritating tree in the spurge family indigenous to Bahia. When they settled in the Providência hill in Rio de Janeiro, they nicknamed the place Favela hill from their common reference, thereby calling a slum a favela for the first time. A favela (Portuguese pronunciation: [faˈvɛlɐ]) is the generally used term for a shanty town in Brazil.

I first visited 2 favelas with contact I made in Rio, the biggest challenge  in Rio is the language, as I don´t speak Portuguese and very few Brazilians speak english. I was clear about that I wanted too see other sides than Copacabana and take pictures that show this side, and also like other people have said, what some call a slum is peoples home. There is not more bad people here I feel, and the situation of a different society  is because many don´t have a possibility to earn money and live lives in what some call ordinary  ways. So as I expected I meet people with happy faces and I felt welcome.

After that I wanted to visit the biggest favela named da Rocinha. I got in contact with a person that guided tourist and there are some different meanings of what some call slum turism but I don´t feel that it is a bad thing too visit other sides of living as long as it is with respect and god tensions.

Favela tour.

Photo Johnny Leo Johansen(c) Rocinha.

Photo Johnny Leo Johansen(c) Morro do Querosene and da Mineira.

In Brazil 2014 FIFA World cup and 2016 Summer Olympics. I hope that this will improve the situation for all Brazilians.

